Great Falls

During my stay in Hapers Ferry, I took a day to drive down river to see the Great Falls of the Potomac.  After a scenic drive through the wine and horse country of northwest Virginia, I enjoyed several hours biking and walking around this National Park.  Here are the falls from the south side if the river.

It was amazing to see the current water level compared to the high water marks on this pole and pictures of flooding on this poster.

I then drove around and across the river to see these same falls from the Maryland side.  The north side viewing location is on an island in the river that was, unfortunately, closed due to recent rains.  I did, however, get my first bike ride on the C & O canal towpath, riding out-and-back about 4 miles.  

Before the railroads took over, this was the major means of transporting goods along the river.  The towpath sits between the man made canal and the river and runs 184 miles from Washington, DC to Cumberland, MD. 

One thought on “Great Falls

  1. Such a wonderful documentary of your trip! I I’m looking forward to the next installment! Enjoy the ride 😉

Leave a Reply

